Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

25 on 24 : Quarter century of realizations

with 24 comments

  1. I have realized that we should never be afraid of doing something good. But the point is, that we should genuinely believe in what we want to do. And, no matter how dramatic it may sound, the universe, does conspire to get that job done for you. Only things required, on our part are intention, and action.
  2. I have realized that everyone can do wonders when times are good. But real character surfaces only when troubles knock on the door. As Mr. Buffet rightly said, “You only know who is swimming naked, when the tides go out.”
  3. I have realized that people closest to us have the real power to disturb our life. The disturbance may be positive or negative. And the intensity of disturbance is inversely proportional to their closeness to us.
  4. I have realized that longer we wait for things to happen, the more part luck has to play. Read more on this here.
  5. I have realized that “Karmaanye Vaadhikaraaste Maa Phaleshu Kadachana” is spot on and the exact essence of life. This means that, we should not worry about the results. We should only focus on the action part.
  6. I have realized that Truths, powerful truths, have their own gravity. They have the property of eventually pulling people close to them. And if we are the ones with the truth, people will eventually be affected by that gravity and come closer to us.
  7. I have realized that, “To be rich, is glorious”. But if the riches don’t help us in time of need, then should we refer to them as ‘riches’ at all?
  8. I have realized that you should fight, but only when there is something really worth to be won.
  9. I have realized that if I am able to fulfill most of my dreams, especially these, I would be a satisfied person. Most of these are very amateurish. But I would like to ask you – That one year from now, would you remember your routine work like grocery shopping, office work OR something dramatic and off-routine things like drinking only juices, jumping of sand dunes with friends, almost dieing not once, but twice?
  10. I have realized that genes do matter. But not more than passion. Passion (burning ones!), can take you to places unimaginable. Why else can a Bumblebee fly, though aerodynamically, it is impossible!
  11. I have realized that relationships are investments. And vice versa is also true. J
  12. I have realized that you can’t get everything in life. You need to leave certain things for others also😉
  13. I have realized that travelling is much more than just a change from the routines our lives. It is a process of self-awareness. Being aware of your worth in a frame of reference, that is unimaginably large and beyond our control.
  14. I have realized that we should never forget those who knew us, when we were no one. That is the only way we can remember where we came from.
  15. I have realized that the best time to leave a party is before you actually want to. Financially speaking, you should exit the markets when traditional savers turn investors and investors turn active.
  16. I have realized that we are not born to be doormats.
  17. I have realized that there are alternatives. Always.
  18. I have realized that there are no ‘deserve’ances in life. Nobody ‘deserves’ anything or nothing. We don’t really get what we want. We get what we are.
  19. I have realized that I am the cause of everything in my life.
  20. I have realized that if we don’t make time for exercise, we must eventually make time for illness in our lives.
  21. I have realized that without risk, there is no greatness. If you want to be great (and your definition of greatness may be anything), you’ve got to take risks.
  22. Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up. It knows it must run faster than the fastest lion or it will be killed. Every morning, a lion also wakes up. It knows it must outrun the slowest gazelle, or it will starve to death. I have realized that it does not matter whether you are a lion or a gazelle. When the sun comes up, you better start running.
  23. I have realized that it is not our abilities that show who we really are. It is our choices.
  24. I have realized that we should never take decisions when we are angry. And we should never make promises when we are happy.
  25. I have realized that what makes us win in the end is not what helped us start winning in the beginning.

– The Realization –

Written by Dev

February 24, 2010 at 12:01 am

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. #22 and 24 are worth their weight in Unobtainium.

    Nitesh

    February 24, 2010 at 10:35 am

  2. Awesome. It was worth waiting for your new post🙂

    Roopa

    February 24, 2010 at 11:05 am

  3. Point #3: “And the intensity of disturbance is inversely proportional to their closeness to us.”

    Often directly proportional too.

    runa

    February 24, 2010 at 11:10 am

  4. Welcome back..

    I totally agree point no.3.. great realization

    Kavya

    February 24, 2010 at 2:58 pm

  5. too many realisations???😀 😀

    Sakhi

    February 24, 2010 at 4:16 pm

  6. @Nitesh
    I have loads of this element called Unobtanium. Whenever you need it, just get in touch of me. I am a bulk supplier.😉

    @Roopa
    Thanks Roopa.

    @Runa
    Views. Counterviews.🙂

    @Kavya
    Hey, did I go anywhere?😉

    @Sakhi
    Yes. It actually took more than 2 decades to realise them.🙂

    Dev

    February 24, 2010 at 4:54 pm

  7. doesnt look like these r coming from a 25 yr old boy….u have learnt a lot from life!!!

    stargb

    February 24, 2010 at 5:21 pm

  8. Good Realizations. I guess everyone goes through them now and then.

    The Survivor

    February 24, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  9. 5 and 6 are bang on

    B K CHOWLA

    February 25, 2010 at 4:48 pm

  10. Awww, you have sum it all in… 25 points.🙂 I have finished my second journal and still counting to do the same. 🙂

    Of late, everyone (almost everyone) I know is in some way or the other going through some thought process. So couple of weeks back, I sat back on my sofa and gave it a try as well. I realised 24 years had been a learning process, and so will the rest of my life be.

    And when I read this Post, I convinced myself How True.

    I agree in all the “Realisations”. And a few have struck me. “I am the reason and the cause of everything in my life.”

    Real nice rendition of a person that is “Dev”.

    Happy 25 Dev.

    Len

    February 25, 2010 at 6:01 pm

  11. @StarGB
    25 year old boy or man??😉

    @The Survivor
    Yes🙂

    @B K Chowla
    Very true. Our ancient scripts have power beyond our imagination. We just need to tap into them.

    @Len
    What more can I say Len.🙂 Thanks.
    May we realize all that is worth to realize before its too late to realize.😉

    Dev

    February 25, 2010 at 10:51 pm

  12. long time… huh!

    can i add one into the list?-
    “I have realized that the pic is nice :twisted:”

    nice post mate.

    DesiNinja

    February 26, 2010 at 12:39 am

  13. Gr8 post…you have learned a lot and all points are very much true…good ones…keep it up!!!

    Vikas

    February 26, 2010 at 3:53 pm

  14. #21 & #22 are the crux of life… hope you follow em strictly !!! and i think you are still a doormat !!!O_o

    shubhang

    February 27, 2010 at 10:20 pm

  15. Oh Dev nicelly summed up..somehow in the mad race we all forget the essence…and these pointers serve as a great boost🙂

    Dew

    March 2, 2010 at 8:32 pm

  16. @Desi Ninja
    Thanks Man.🙂

    @Vikas
    Thank you.

    @Shubhang
    I try my best to follow the both dude.
    AS far as the doormat thing is concerned, do I een know you??😉

    @Dew
    Thanks Dew.🙂

    Dev

    March 2, 2010 at 9:51 pm

  17. Nice collection Dev🙂 Loved this one a lot: I have realized that we are not born to be doormats. and #3, #22, #8!

    Avada Kedavra

    March 3, 2010 at 1:55 am

  18. Hi Dev,
    Nice post great

    rupam

    March 3, 2010 at 7:47 pm

  19. Nice post and nice blog…by the way Do you remember me?

    Sruthi

    March 4, 2010 at 2:26 am

  20. @Avada Kedavara
    Thanks and the doormat one is my personal favorite🙂

    @Rupam
    Thanks🙂

    @Sruthi
    Some more hints will be helpful.🙂

    Dev

    March 5, 2010 at 12:56 am

  21. By reading this post, I become more and more aware that life is full of choices to be taken and to be made

    Impressived Awareness, Dev.

    Cheers🙂

    blommer22

    March 5, 2010 at 10:35 am

  22. awesome post!!

    Reema

    March 6, 2010 at 1:45 pm

  23. Well written! 2 is so damn true!

    Swaram

    March 19, 2010 at 4:14 pm

  24. 8 is apt!

    Swaram

    March 19, 2010 at 4:15 pm


Leave a Reply

