Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

2 friends and 3 questions

with 18 comments

This post is about two of my close friends. [Disclosure: Both are awesome & both have a bright future. And, I myself look upto them for advice.]

Here I have decided to do a sort of personality post mortem. I am listing 5 of their traits which can be compared. But due to obvious reasons, I shall not disclose their identities. And to those, who eventually do realise who these guys are, it is my humble request to kindly refrain from making any disclosures.🙂

If I say that I have never been judgemental about both of them, then that would be wrong. I have been.  But that is irrelevant. All I want from the readers is to think. To compare and if possible, give their views.

So why do I want to do this? It’s because, I want to know what others feel about these 2 guys. I know a lot about both of them and sometimes try to analyse where both of them are heading. It’s because of this that I have an urge to know what others feel about them. Or you can say that I want to test a new concept called crowd intelligence.😉

So let’s get to the point.

Let’s call my first friend as F1.

  • Believes that he can do anything in life, if he wants. But does not ‘usually’ put in the required effort. But when he does, it’s magical.
  • Believes in proper planning & preparation. But when it comes to the execution part, his interest or motivation starts going down.
  • Has a good enough job, which he wants to be his last. Wants to start something of his own. But there are also times when he wants to join his dream company; which contradicts his vision of starting his own venture.
  • Wants to do many things at a time. This sometimes leads to him doing nothing. But when he does something, it is really class apart.
  • Is ready to go to any length to nurture a relationship, even if it is not being reciprocated from the other side. This sometimes leads to, you know what…pain.
  • Passionate, different, unsatisfied & questioning [Words that are apt for F1]

Now here is my second friend F2.

  • Believes that one can’t get everything in life. So, does not think king size. But he knows what to do in his limited capabilities.
  • Knows the power of planning and preparation. But believes that its better to get into action straightaway and then change the plan as per existing circumstances. Is not a firm believer of the concept of detailed planning.
  • Has a good enough job, which he wants to be his last. No, he does not want to start any company. He just wants to retire from his present organization when he reaches 60.
  • Focuses on one thing at a time and completes it before touching anything else. Does not believe in doing things ‘awesome’ly. Just wants to complete things.
  • Is not ready to put much effort into relationships. Believes that relationships grow as they ought to grow and are eventually decided by destiny (God).
  • Result oriented, protocolish, satisfied & abiding [Words that are apt for F2]

__________

In the end, I have 3 questions to ask –

  1. Is it better to be like my friend F1 or F2 and why?
  2. Who is more likely to go higher in life? Assuming lady luck is equally favourable to both of them.
  3. Why am I playing the God here?😉 [OK, no need to answer this one]

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m just like F1 and so I’d say its better to be F2, cuz he has contentment.. knows his limits and is happy with them..

    Perx

    December 8, 2009 at 6:25 pm

  2. I would say F2🙂

    Reema

    December 8, 2009 at 9:49 pm

  3. 1. Neither. What we really need in life is a mix of the two.
    2. Out of the two, F1 will achieve something good in life. He has the passion to do it, to make something big happen in life (unlike F2, who just wants a calm life). With a little bit of motivation, he can do wonders. And I believe in “Nothing is impossible”. If we really want to do something, we can do it. I dont like F2’s attitude.
    3. Because your name is “dev” which means God😛

    Avada Kedavra

    December 9, 2009 at 3:40 am

  4. @Perx
    Even I am more like F1…but yes contentment also has a really big stake in our lives.

    @Reema
    Hmmm…

    @Avada Kedavra
    So true. No passion. No life. Atleast according to the God…oops Dev!!😉

    Dev

    December 9, 2009 at 12:42 pm

  5. Everyone has their own measure of success/happiness. There is probably no single scale that can measure everybody.

    Ultimately in the bigger scheme of life, how far you go, is really all your perception!

    amreekandesi

    December 9, 2009 at 3:07 pm

  6. I think F2 is better. Because since he knows that he cant get everything in life, he will be happy with whatever he has. so thats gud.

    Kavya

    December 9, 2009 at 3:10 pm

  7. @amreekandesi
    Thats the reason I did not want to be judgemental.🙂

    @Kavya
    Hmmm…🙂

    Dev

    December 9, 2009 at 3:38 pm

  8. I think its better to be a mix of both – F1 and F2
    Adapting oneself to the situation and circumstances and deciding which way to go – the F1 or the F2 way at that moment and making the best of what life throws at you.

    Priti

    December 9, 2009 at 5:07 pm

  9. F2 to seems to be more better.
    It is only my opinion-I am not passing any judgement.

    B K CHOWLA

    December 9, 2009 at 7:04 pm

  10. @Priti
    I echo what you say – Its all about survival of the most adaptive.

    @B K Chowla
    Hmmm..🙂

    Dev

    December 10, 2009 at 2:05 pm

  11. Am F1 and my sister is F2. Partly, as far as teh career goals are etc. Rather let me put it this way, she’s a lot more hard working than I am and hence is where she is, which is an awesome place to be in. I am dragging my feet, but I have a more richer life as I do more (qualitatively) enriching stuff.

    At the end of the day, emulating is good, but we are built by our characteristics and environment. Just be yourself and follow what your heart says after it listens to your mind🙂

    rads

    December 10, 2009 at 6:18 pm

  12. I guess with F2 you become happy as your needs are limited. If your dreams are small and limited, that brings in happiness.

    Xylene

    December 10, 2009 at 7:29 pm

  13. @Rads
    So true Rads. We are what we are and not what others want us to be. Great.

    @Xylene
    Seems a really practical approach.🙂

    Dev

    December 11, 2009 at 12:17 pm

  14. It’s great to have such friends around. They always inspire you🙂 I believe in some way or the other. However, a few observations,

    * Is it better to be like my friend F1 or F2 and why?
    (A) – Well first thing why would you chose to become like someone else at all. Each one of us are unique in our own ways. I strongly believe in this, just that some are able to discover some may not.

    And trust me, for someone if the thumb rule works…it’s not necessary that it would work for others too, since traits differ from person to person..is it not?

    * Who is more likely to go higher in life? Assuming lady luck is equally favourable to both of them.
    (A) Again, this can be very subjective. Depending on their talents who knows they may excel in their respective fields….!!
    🙂

    Dew

    December 11, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  15. i want be like F1 and I am one…recently i read a personality development book…and in that they name F1s as popular sanguine..the fun part of the crowd..!!needless to mention they come with their own limitations…(in this case I come with my own sets of drawbacks..:P ) lol

    Narendra

    December 12, 2009 at 1:12 pm

  16. @Dew
    You are right Dew. We are blessed to have friends from whom we can draw inspirations. (and parties😉 )
    And for the same reason as you, I am not being judgmental in my post.

    @Narendra
    Hi Narendra
    Welcome to my blog and we all have drawbacks….I have lot more….drawBacks, drawFronts, drawSides and what not…😉

    Dev

    December 12, 2009 at 2:55 pm

  17. F1 is definitly more interesting!😉
    F1 is like Sehwag while F2 is Dravid.

    Varuni

    December 16, 2009 at 8:47 pm

  18. I want to marry that F1 guy .

    (Well if his heart beats for a 180 cm 110 kilo bearded person.

    PS: I will shave occasionally)

    No wait, on second thoughts, you are not supposed to marry a mirror right??

    Trayambak

    December 19, 2009 at 12:01 am


Leave a Reply

