Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

Real meaning of 48 hours & visuals from my trip to South India

with 15 comments

What are 48 hours? Nothing much. Just 2 days. This is the obvious response that I expect from any normal person. And even I was such a normal person till now.

But thanks to a train journey to Chennai, I realized what 48 hours actually meant.

My organization decided to send me to Chennai for some work and I swear that the first things that came to my mind was coconuts & lungis(!) [Nothing personal here] I was excited at the prospect of going to Chennai as I had never gone so south in my life! Also, this shall help me add another city to the growing list. [Note – One of my aims of life is to visit 100 Indian cities. Read other such aims here]

And the train route which IRCTC’s site had allowed me to take, was about 2500 Kms, starting somewhere in Rajasthan, then passing through Gujarat, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh & finally to Tamil Nadu. And though my decision of not taking my laptop with me was born out of sound reasoning like ‘why take a liability while travelling’ & ‘security’, I did realise about the graveness of my mistake, much later on.

It is very rightly said that when you don’t want to get bored, then the entire universe conspires to bore you. I had my reservation in II AC; which unluckily got upgraded to IAC. And that too in a coupe! Now, it was not me, but my fate that decided that, Dev will spend his entire journey talking to just one person who would him in the coupe, and not many like there are in IInd or IIIrdAC. And apart from Ahmedabad, there were no big stations in route to Chennai. Luckily, I grabbed this opportunity, and bought a fiction. Chetan Bhagat’s 2 States.

For those who have already read it, might recollect that a major chunk of the book is written with Chennai as the background. And this was indeed a great help to me, as I could make tentative plans about places to visit in Chennai. [Thanks Chetan…your book acted as a guide book for me].  And let me add a nano-book-review here – 2 States is much better than One Night @ Call Center & 3 Mistakes of my life. But still, not as magical as Five Point Someone. Though, I strongly recommend this book.

Only problem with the book was, that I devoured it in less than 4 hours. And I was left with nothing but magazines, some songs in mobile and an old person besides me to communicate. And I still had more than 1500 Kms still to go.

This was the point when I realised that sleep is also a means of entertainment in such a long journey. Though I don’t sleep much, I had no better options. So I slept. I slept whenever I had nothing else to do. And just imagine how frustrating it would be to have someone staring at you continuously? This act was performed by a Tamil Nadu Tourism’s poster depicting a tiger, which had huge eyes staring out of the poster all the time. It was terrible.

One night when I was about to doze off…it just came to my mind, that apart from a stupid update, I had not written a post for a long time. My blog was in a sort of dead state. Somehow, after my Desert Bike Trip post, I did not have any inspiration to write. But, as they say, out of desperation, courage is born, so is this post. In the middle of night, I started writing this post in ink and paper…

[Please don’t analyse my writing – Its universally known to be pathetic]

So, after travelling in train alone (effectively though), I did eventually realise that 48 hours is something huge. It is actually a lot of time. I don’t want to give a lecture here, but we can utilize our time in ways that are unimaginable. Time is power. Real power.

I finally did reach Chennai, after, you guessed it…48 hours on train. And frankly speaking, I have never before been so happy to see a railway station.

And after reaching the city, I travelled as much as I could. Went to Marina Beach, T. Nagar, another beach whose name I cant remember, Mahabalipuram, Kovalam beach and likes…

Below are some of the pictures which I shall share with the readers…

Marina Beach – Chennai

Mahabalipuram [Above & Below]

Mahabalipuram Beach

Kovalam (Not the one in Kerala😉 )

And just to make it sure that I don’t have any lack of reading material, I bought some of these…

🙂 And once I finished my journey, I realized that I was not wrong in buying these🙂

And by the way, Chennai is much more about Coconuts & lungis…its a beautiful place and a lovely city. Though language was a problem for me. But it had its own charm.😉

[P.S. – After Chennai, I went to Bengaluru & Ahmedabad…but I have no pictures to share from there due to reasons known to the virus which fell in love with Bengaluru & Ahmedabad pics.]🙂

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hmmm, so you liked “two states”… i have got mixed review and have read earlier books of chetan and hence thought of skipping this one. I think, i will pick it up when i board a train🙂 🙂

    The city does look beautiful and much more than coconuts and lungis when it is seen through your lens.

    But why-o-why the virus had to attack bengaluru and amdavad pics!!

    I would have loved to see Amdavad through a visitor’s eyes!🙂

    sakhi

    November 19, 2009 at 11:50 am

  2. hey dev,
    WELCOME BACK!! must say this post is very nicely written… n i wud also give u credit fr clickin pics at d rgt tyms..
    n u forgot u mention dat dere was a nice li’l gal who kept u busy at tyms wid her msgs😉
    cheers to d chennai trip n fr it to give us our writer back🙂

    neha kotwal

    November 19, 2009 at 10:29 pm

  3. wow… u’ve created a completely different image of chennai for me… looks like its a wonderful place…

    pics are amazing…

    but i wanna know about the things which u haven’t posted…!!!

    shubhang

    November 20, 2009 at 12:27 am

  4. Nice to have you back Dev.. 48 hrs is too long n travelling alone for so long is even more boring. Can understand that. I still need to grab a copy of 2 states. I got mixed reviews too (some good, some bad). Been a while since I completed reading a book. I start then drop and then start some other book.

    Avada Kedavra

    November 20, 2009 at 1:59 am

  5. @Sakhi
    And if it is train trip to Chennai, then no better book😉
    As far as the pics of Amvdabad are concerned, may the virus had a soft corner for the city and didnt want to share it.🙂

    @Neha K
    Thanks Neha.
    And if it hadnt been for that little girl who kept me busy with her messages, things would have been much bleaker…🙂
    Cheers to Chennai.

    @Shubhang
    Even I was amazed to see Chennai. Seeing is believing. So true …isn’t it??

    @Avada Kedavra
    Thanks Avada. But this 48 hours trip did make me realise how patient I can be.😉
    And I will say that if you don’t read this book, you will miss something quite interesting.

    Dev

    November 20, 2009 at 9:58 am

  6. Good to see you after a long gap.
    I have done a bit of travelling to Chennai and remember on Mount Road,T Nagar and Dhun Bldg at Mount Road.

    B K CHOWLA

    November 21, 2009 at 11:50 am

  7. Nice post, travelling gives most memorable experiences of life. u didn’t mention about chennai food (dosa).

    vikas

    November 21, 2009 at 10:37 pm

  8. Sounds like a wonderful place! Time is our illusion we can speed it up or slow it down all with a shift in our perspective.

    tobeme

    November 21, 2009 at 10:38 pm

  9. LOL @ the tiger poster🙂

    Reema

    November 21, 2009 at 11:51 pm

  10. @B K Chowla
    Thanks…It is good to be back among words🙂

    @vikas
    Very True. Travelling sort of opens our mind to thoughts that otherwise get lost in daily routine.
    and as far as dosas are concerned….
    Dosas dosas everywhere, not a Chapaati to be had😉

    @tobeme
    True. So true.

    @Reema🙂

    Dev

    November 23, 2009 at 1:06 pm

  11. 48 hrs and alone.. too bad.. I can understand your situation.

    I also liked 2 states and even I completed the book in a stretch of around 4 hrs.

    Kavya

    November 25, 2009 at 5:04 pm

  12. Interesting read..😀
    I’ve yet to read “2 states” and “The Lost Symbol.”
    Btw.. you didn’t describe much of your experience with your coupe-partner..😛

    Ambika

    December 5, 2009 at 5:34 pm

  13. @Kavya
    Even I can empathize with you for sympathizing with me.😉

    @Ambika
    Let there be (NO) light. Amen!🙂

    Dev

    December 7, 2009 at 12:07 pm

  14. Hey ! awesome blog🙂
    I came across it today !
    nice work

    SR

    January 16, 2010 at 7:36 pm


Leave a Reply

