Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

Going where no one, with brains, had ever gone before

with 14 comments

Note: This post may make you feel that I take too many risks in life. If that is so, then you are right to an extent. I can be said to be like that. But eventually, I have realised a lot, because of this trekking expedition, which I undertook with a friend(colleague) of mine.

So, let me tell you at the onset, that one of the dreams or wishes of my life has been to climb a mountain. I have always wanted to climb a peak. And by peak, what I mean, is summit. It may have been a summit of a hill also. But that is not important. I just wished to go and climb up a peak and look down upon the world [devilish wish] ;-)  Whatever.

So, after pondering over it for a while, I finally decided to make it happen. And I was able to convince one of my colleagues to do the same.  So, we finally shortlisted a peak in the Aravallis range. Aravallis, because they are the nearest to our place of existence.

So on a cool Sunday morning, before the sun could wake up, we woke up and drove to the road, nearest to the peak. Since vehicles could not go to the bottom of the hill, we had to make it on foot.

1 

The picture above shows me going towards the bottom of the peak. I am not sure about the height of the peak, but the main reason of shortlisting the above peak was that, just a few days back, when I was trying to make up my mind for the same, I saw a shepherd at a height of around 30% of the entire height. And you know what, he, from that height, looked just like a speck of color to me. That was it. I had to climb. And this had to be the peak.

By the way, I would like to mention here that I have no formal training in trekking our rock climbing at all.

As mentioned, I am not sure about the height of the peak, but I reckon it to be around 150 mts. Doesn’t seem much? Even I thought so. Till I realized otherwise, during my accent to the top.

So we began climbing, first few meters were quite easy and it seemed that we shall be able to make it no time. But just by looking up, it was visible that the hard part was about to begin. Reason being that, rocks above were much smaller and looser. So putting our foot in the right place would require a real honest effort.

The picture below shows, what I saw at about half way mark. And I swear, it was phenomenal. It seemed that very soon, I would realize my dream of looking down upon the world.

But it seemed that powers above had the idea of my evil thoughts.

 4

A confession here first; Around the time, when the last one third of the height was left, it seemed to us that we had made a huge mistake. We had grossly underestimated the height and the effort required to reach to the top. The problem was that the soil and rocks up there were much smaller and looser than those below. Making it extremely difficult to plant our feet in the rocks. Whenever I tried to push myself upwards, a part of soil below my feet would slip down; making me hanging for my life with my hands. It was tough. Really tough. It was at this time that my friend and I started thinking about our future and life(!) Though both of us knew that we had actually made a mistake, we did not want to show our fears and kept prompting each other to go on.

Also, it was now very sure that we could not, I repeat, could not go back from the side of the mountain, from which we were going up in the first place. It was way too slippery to climb down. We would definitely have slipped.

We had to decide. And we decided that we had to go to the top. It was the only way to save ourselves. Then maybe we could climb down from the other side of the mountain. Now it seems very stupid, but the reality was that all I wanted from God, at that time, was to leave me with a broken hand or foot. That was the least I could have bargained for.

But the point is that you are reading this post. Which means that it must have been posted by someone who did not die. So I am here and alive. This story must have a happy ending therefore.

😉

So, without any options in our hand, we started towards the peak. And this time around, we had to hold cactuses (!) Yes. Cactuses. And that too, many times. We had no other option. We used our handkerchiefs to cover our hand and then held the stem of cactus and pulled ourselves up. The Aravallis have a lot of cactus here. And I never knew, that cactus could be so useful and help me rise. Difficulties make you put in efforts to raise higher.

 8

This is how my target seemed from just below the peak. And this is what was motivating me. I really could not have given up after coming so near to my goal. I couldn’t.

And we continued. But both of us had just one thing in our mind. We would never take such risks ever again. Never.

And just to show the level to which we both had climbed, without any trekking equipment or formal training, just have a look at the picture below –

 10

The picture above, made me realise 3 very important things –

First – I had been really stupid, to have tried something as risky as this.

Second – Never underestimate nature and overestimate yourself. You can be killed. Really.

Third – Trekking is not a time pass sports. And it should never to be done alone. And never without proper equipments and training.

But in life things usually take their own course. And I feel that it has been rightfully said, that if you want something really badly, then the entire universe conspires to help you get it. There could have been so many things that could have gone wrong. But universe had other ideas. It made me achieve, what I wanted to. I was where I always wanted to be.

 

12

 

I had made it to the top. I was alive. I was kicking & I was bruised

But I had achieved what I wanted.

Note: I eventually made it back with my friend. I bruised myself a bit .At last count, there had been a total of 17 cactus’s love marks in both my palms. But that was a bargain to what could have actually happened.

Caution: Never do this, no matter how exciting it may seem at first.

Written by Dev

August 4, 2009 at 9:51 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That last photo is really nice!
    About mountain climbing I love doing it too and did in fact climb and trek a lot when I was in college. There is something very exciting to me about climbing a mountain.

    Nita

    August 4, 2009 at 12:25 pm

  2. Any climb upwards is difficult.Those who are serious alwaysmake it to the top.You will.Nice post.All the best.

    B K CHOWLA

    August 4, 2009 at 1:54 pm

  3. Hmmm I really wonder about this daredevil attitude even when one knows better..what is this urge that makes one take the risk still?
    My comment stems from two recent incidents in my city of young boys drowning in nearby river…why did they go when they know that river is very dangerous esp in rainy season and even when other people have drowned before?

    Reema

    August 5, 2009 at 1:09 am

  4. I was a member of Dev’s maddiest plan to climb the mountain. As Ist time i came across him, he wants to do something i.e. the challange to natural things. it was also my wish to do like that hence we start the journey towards our dream and this event already have been planned befroe 1 week. finally, the day came, we wake up in early morning, it was 5:00 A.M. , Belive it, it is impossible to me to wake up for such a plan having lots of risk, adventure, fun, many more that you can’t imagine.We reach the starting point by somehow, start to walp to our destiny i.e. apprx. 200 m heigth mountain. As we reach half way , then we thougth, what was the time we plan such bullish and risky plan. we had no option rather to climb the mountain , because by seeing back, there no way to climb down, we have to go ahead.Then we thougth jo hoga dekha jayega , Bas ek bar top per pahunch jayen.
    Finally due to our strong comittment, we got, what was targetd. Sach mane, we feels that we got MOKSHA.But we decided to not do such pagalpan in future. At last Think carefully, Do carefully.

    Manoj

    August 5, 2009 at 2:23 pm

  5. now i want to go for trekking too!!🙂

    and the silhoute photo is too good!🙂

    sakhi

    August 6, 2009 at 9:51 am

  6. amazed in a good way… pics taken @crucial points is commendable !

    shazia

    August 7, 2009 at 9:44 am

  7. Nice

    rupam

    August 9, 2009 at 7:54 pm

  8. The last pic is awesome [give them alt tags; why a no.!].

    The good thing is that you won despite your devil-may-care attitude! Be careful in future though you will miss a lot of fun!

    I am new to trekking but I have documented whatever little i have done so far; will go for JNU Mountaineering club autumn trekking!

    Vikas Gupta

    August 10, 2009 at 10:02 am

  9. loved the last snap …. never gone for mountain climbing …. but one thing that I really want to experience is paragliding …😀 … will go for it someday in years to come😐

    Harsh

    August 10, 2009 at 7:31 pm

  10. nice pictures…..u r really an adventrous person!

    shobhana

    August 15, 2009 at 6:44 pm

  11. Wow! Dat sounds superb…and the last pic is completely breath taking. Looks every bit worth the effort. Kudos to you.

    Datsme

    August 19, 2009 at 8:15 pm

  12. Hey nice post.. I have done mountain climbing amidst a forest but it was fun.. getting down is not as difficult as climbing usually.. But really its fun to do

    Avada Kedavra

    August 27, 2009 at 5:38 am

  13. […] Going where no one with brains had ever gone before […]

  14. […] Going where no one with brains had ever gone before […]


Leave a Reply

