Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

Things I wish I could stop doing a bit

with 7 comments

I was actually planning to write a post titled Things I wish I could start doing. But then I realized that, I have already, done a similar list of things I wish to do. Also, under normal circumstances, we all wish to do a lot of things which we haven’t done. It can be anything. Anything as simple as eating something delicious and long not eaten or extreme stuffs like sky diving. But more importantly, there are certain things, that should not be done on a regular basis. These are the things that have actually become a part of our routine existence and are difficult to break away from. We all are different, so we can have a different list of things to avoid doing. I start here with mine.

Procrastination

Now, this is not unique. Almost all of us have this problem. But what matters to me is that, this is a part of me. Although, I don’t procrastinate big time; I do it enough to annoy myself.  I have tried a lot and I must say that I won’t be boasting if I was to say that I have been successful in reducing this horrible habit of mine to a great extent.

 

Hero Worship

There are 2 people in this world, who are like God to me. I use God here for the lack of a more apt word. I very diligently try to follow these people, in every way I can. One of them is Howard Roark. A man as a man should be. I swear that after reading Fountainhead, I have changed. Roark, although a fictional character has an impact on me, that even the real life characters could not have on me. I started reading Fountainhead during a long train journey when I was 19 years old. And I won’t be wrong, if I say that, It took me 19 years and a long train journey to find myself. (Remember Lakshya’s tagline J ). The other person is a real person. He is not a character from the books but he is now definitely a part of the folklore. I am talking about Warren Buffet. You should make a note here that I am not a follower of this man because of his money making capabilities or for his knack of being right almost everytime. I worship this person because of his simplicity. For his uncomplex and water like uncomplicated life. So what is wrong with worshipping heroes? Nothing I would say. But only as long as you don’t forget what you yourself are. There is really no point in trying to do each and everything as the person you admire. I remember that when I first finished reading Fountainhead, I tried to assume that I was the real life version of Roark and actually used to make genuine efforts to take decisions in ways that Mr. Roark would have taken in his ‘objectivism’ ways.

 

Declining Enthusiasm

Following graph is an apt representation of my enthusiasm levels from start till the end of a project. Now, a project can be anything – a relationship, some office work, some assignments, some new and innovative ideas, or just about anything.

Things I wish I could stop doing Img 1 Enthu 

As you can see in the graph, just after an idea is born at t=0, the enthusiasm shoots above 100%. But after that, it slowly starts to fizzle out and then abruptly comes to a negligible percentage during the half way mark. And then again the downtrend continues just as if some Universal Law of Declining Intent is making it happen. Ill effects of declining enthusiasm are, I suppose, universally known.

 

Being too frank

The mere fact that I am writing a post of this nature tells you how frank I am.

 

Reading too much

Librarian. That would have been a perfect job for me.😉 I just love reading. There are times when I can read 3-4 books simultaneously! There are times, when if I can’t find some good reading material, I start feeling uneasy. This is not a comfortable habit to have. I agree that reading is a good habit. But excess of anything is bad. I can very well utilize my reading time in something more (or rather less) brain taxing. But no. My habit of reading on and on, will never allow me to do so. When I was a kid, I used to make beautiful drawings and sketches. But then one day, I don’t know from where, just like swine flu, I caught Reading Flu. And under current circumstances, it seems incurable.

 

Taking Risks

I have a habit of taking risks. Some of these are huge ones and some are not. I have taken a lot of life threatening risks too. Some which I have already shared on my blog. I won’t say that what I do is wrong. After all, life is about doing the things that are interesting and difficult. And to do difficult things, we need to take risks.

So, these were some of the things that I wish I could top doing a bit. I won’t say completely, because then I won’t have much to make life exciting.  ;-)

How can I not read?

Why shouldn’t I take risks?

Why shouldn’t I look at my heroes with awe?

Why shouldn’t I be as I am and be frank?

Isn’t it. 😉

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So, these were some of the things that I wish I could top doing a bit. I won’t say completely, because then I won’t have much to make life exciting. 😉

    How can I not read?

    Why shouldn’t I take risks?

    Why shouldn’t I look at my heroes with awe?

    Why shouldn’t I be as I am and be frank?

    Isn’t it.

    you have the answers right there in your post..🙂

    how can you say you wish to stop reading even a bit..
    and being frank and taking risks are the essense of life..

    though Procrastination and reducing energy is something we can live without.

    and if the heroes are like this and the reason so clear the i say why not..🙂

    oorja

    June 24, 2009 at 2:58 pm

  2. Were you born on the 16th of a month by any chance? I was told by my numerologist friend that I (born on the 16th) owe my declining enthusiasm graph to my birth date! It makes me feel so much better😛

    Shivya

    June 24, 2009 at 11:11 pm

  3. Be as u are!! these are just minor things!

    Reema

    June 25, 2009 at 12:21 am

  4. I think the level of Enthusiasm is directly proportional to the work environment and encouragements.
    Fountainhead changed me too in a way.🙂

    Amit

    June 25, 2009 at 2:21 am

  5. @oorja
    You have voiced my thoughts. Even I know that things that I want to avoid, are indeed the things that make me what I am.🙂

    @Shivya
    No ma’am, I have never been(!) born on 16th of any month.

    @Reema
    “Be as you are.”
    Wow!! You seem to be tslking like Roark.

    @Amit
    You are somewhat right in your proportionality concept. But there are indeed many more things within ourselves that effect it to.
    But as far as Fountainhead is cocerned, Fountainhead rocks!!!

    Dev

    June 25, 2009 at 9:45 am

  6. I bet 95% of the ppl today are suffering frm this problem >> Procrastination … its a human nature … lol😛

    Harsh

    June 25, 2009 at 10:42 pm

  7. what you think about librarians is not quite true, i think! i’m working in a bookshop, which is almost like working in a library i’d think. anyway, one cannot read all day long in a bookshop or library. we have to shelve/catalogue/price books and handle patrons. what you’d find is that you see all these books you want to read but can hardly find the time to do so!

    sulz

    July 9, 2009 at 8:06 pm


Leave a Reply

