Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

My experiment with juices – Juice Day 1.0

with 10 comments

Caution : This post may be monotonously boring and exagerattedely sweet.

Fasting is tough. And when I say tough, I mean real tough (atleast for someone like me). But this in no way should mean that I have never fasted. Once on a religious occasion, I did keep what is known as ‘Niraajal Vrat‘ (Fasting without water) – I was without water and food for about 18 hours (!) that day . And I swear – It was really very tough. Makes me realise how much pain our mothers take when they keep uncountable number of fasts in a year.

So, on Saturday, just out of nowhere, a thought came to my mind. Would it not be exciting to live a day where I dont eat anything? Just drink loads and loads of juices and water. Why not celebrate a sort of JUICE DAY? I even tried convincing one of my friends to do the same. But he was ready to celebrate the day on a condition. He would have juice of a bit different kind the entire day.πŸ˜‰ So I dumped my friend for this plan and decided to do it alone.

So, Saturday night, I finally decided to do it.
The next day, that’s Sunday, would be a Juice Day 1.0.

orange_juice

[I am writing this post in real time. I drink juice and write down the experience. Its not one of those write at the end of it all posts.]

[Sunday Morning]
Its 0530 Hrs in the morning.πŸ™‚ O.K. I am exaggerating. Actually, it is 0600 Hrs and I am ready to start my Juice Day 1.0. Yes…its strange, but I do wake up early on Sundays to cycle around the areas I live. Its interesting to see how the world looks when no one is seeing you. Or rather, you see more when you are not seen by others. Oops…Sorry for being philosophical so early in the morning. Will write more about my cycling nirvana some other time.

I had brought myself a litre of Tropicana Orange on Saturday night itself, as it would not have been possible to get it in the morning. So after doing the doing word (read: verb) called cycling, I am tasting the Juice first time on the Juice Day 1.0

By the way, I have a solid reason to refer this juice day as version 1.0. If I fail in my endeavour today, atleast I can track my way and make another attempt 1.1 or 1.2 or 1.3Β  till I succeed.

So how does the juice taste first thing in the morning. I have a word for it. Divine. And this time, I am not exaggerating. Its really awesome. Somehow I get the feeling of being cleansed. Seems like juice is pushing out all the toxics out of my body as it flows down.So till now I have had half a liter of juice. And also about a litre of water.
[Juice Meter : Juice – 0.5 Lts ; Water : 1.0 Lts]

[Sunday Afternoon 1300 Hrs]
Let me tell you, its not easy. It is 44 Degrees Celcius outside. (Did I hear OMG from all of you?πŸ˜‰ ) And here I am drinking Orange Juice. 2 Glasses of it. I had really started feeling hungry a while ago. And just imagine that I have not eaten anything since Saturday Night. The juice is filling…but only for the stomach. I am actually ‘feeling’ hungry!! My stomach is full but my heart is hungry. Hungry for food. Hungry to EAT something. And it has only been around 13 hours of the Juice Day. Oh Man…11 hours remain.
[Juice Meter : Juice – 1.0 Lts ; Water : 1.5 Lts]

I have bought a tetra pack of Real PineApple juice right now. A litre of it. I hope it will make a tasty dinner.πŸ™‚

I have also bought some chips to celebrate the end of juice day at night.

[Sunday Evening 2030 Hrs]
Just about 2 hours back, I had a glass of Pineapple juice. My god…now the ‘sweetness’ of the juices is really turning me bitter.

And I also went to the market with a friend (not the same as the one earlier mentioned) and you know what…he wanted to have juice!! (Un)Lucky me…
Even God wants me to drink loads and loads of juices.
So what happens in the market?
What else…another round of juice. This time it was huge glass of Orange juice.
Wow man…I just cant wait for dinner (read : full of pineapple juice) to arrive
Check out the juice meter below now…(its really gaining size now)
[Juice Meter : Juice – 2.0 Lts ; Water : 2.5 Lts]

[Dinner Time : Sunday Night : 2145 Hrs]
So finally, the time has come. It has been 24 hours since I last had anything to ‘eat’.
So here I am, waiting for the dinner to come on the table. Mind you…I am sitting in my company’s guest house’s dining area with my colleagues having a lots of stuff to EAT.
And here it comes…
A 3/4th pack of Real PineApple Juice.
Interesting. Interestingly sweet…
[Juice Meter : Juice – 2.75 Lts ; Water : 3.0 Lts]

[Monday 0030 Hrs]
So finally, Juice Day 1.0 has ended. And it has been a grand success. Though I knew that it is much easier than going on a total fast with nothing to eat or drink, it was not that easy. The main problem with this entire exercise was the hate for the sweet taste developed by my taste buds. During the day, a time did come when I just felt like quitting. Quitting not because it was tough, but because I started feeling too sweet in my mouth after the juices. I really had the crave to just eat something sour or bitter or anything that is not sweet. But somehow the powers above pushed me a lot. I did, eventually complete a day full of juices.

Statistically speaking, I drank 2.75 Lts of juice (all kinds, but only of fruitsπŸ˜‰ ) and 3.0 Lts of water. I am in no mood to disclose the number of times I went to the loo (The only drawback)😦

Though it will make me sound too idealistic, but what I felt is that during the entire day, each gulp of juice had a salutary effect on my will power. This was beacuse I feel that I was continously subverting the pressing desire to ‘eat and not drink’ something.πŸ™‚ Wasn’t that a bit too idealistic? I bet it was.πŸ˜‰ There is one more thing that I would like to add to this idealism – drinking juices all day makes me realise the importance of the ‘monotonous’ food that we eat. I really missed the normal and boring food. Really.

Its already 0100 Hrs on Monday and…
Β 
Ladies and gentlemen, I would take this opportunity to conratulate myself on the successful completion of Juice Day 1.0 with flying colors........

Now I would not like to force anyone to do things like I do, but yes…drinking juices a whole day is much more better and interesting than it sounds. Do give it a try.

But I have some suggestions –

Firstly, try to make your own juices as packaged ones are not the best things to have if you want to really have a natural juicy day out. (I will definitley make my own juices the next time around)
Β 
Secondly, some quantities of fruits would have really helped. Our body summarily does need stuff to EAT also. So why not fruits?

Thirdly, a chewing gum would have really helped me. The sad part is that I realized this pretty late.

As far as I am concerned, I will try Juice Day 2.0 on the 2nd Sunday of the next month. Hopefully I shall be able to make it a part of my monthly routine (if I can have one).πŸ™‚

Cheers!!!

[Note : I am having chips now…OMG….bitter things never tasted so sweet]

Written by Dev

May 11, 2009 at 4:13 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i almost got a cavity reading this…

    make your own fresh fruit juice is a great idea.. if there is a next time…

    congratulations on having a clensed body and a (sweet) clensed mind..

    oorja

    May 11, 2009 at 5:52 pm

  2. Nice work. You probably did your body a lot of good. Of course, a huge win for your will power!

    I should try something like this sometime soonπŸ™‚

    amreekandesi

    May 11, 2009 at 10:24 pm

  3. lolπŸ˜€ I have fasted once in life and I hope that was the last time.

    Reema

    May 11, 2009 at 11:41 pm

  4. Fasting is a serious business.They say
    5 days of food
    1 day of feast
    and
    1 day of fast
    keeps one physically fit

    B K CHOWLA

    May 12, 2009 at 4:43 pm

  5. Ah! Really appreciate your will power. I can imagine how difficult it must have been because I once tried to do an all fruit diet for a day and caved by lunch time.

    Ms. Chill Pill

    May 12, 2009 at 6:17 pm

  6. @oorja
    Cavity?? I got craters!!!
    But being cleansed was a real good feeling.

    @amreekandesi
    I’ll be really happy if someone else also tries this.
    Do let me know when you do it.πŸ™‚

    @ReemaπŸ™‚
    I can very well understand your feelings.

    @B K Chowla
    Now that is one interesting piece of advice sir. Really good one.

    @Ms. Chill Pill
    Thanks…it was really difficult to go ahead of lunch time.

    Dev

    May 13, 2009 at 11:15 am

  7. How about doing this juice fest with fresh juices?πŸ™‚

    Solilo

    May 14, 2009 at 1:01 am

  8. How can you survive with so much sugar?πŸ™‚
    Hmmm…I had a fruits day once but it was too sweet to bear!

    Amit

    May 14, 2009 at 1:25 am

  9. @Solilo
    That was one of the suggestions that I ended up giving myself at the end of the day.πŸ™‚

    @Amit
    To understand the importance of bitterness in life, I had to do the needful man…πŸ˜‰

    Dev

    May 14, 2009 at 1:17 pm

  10. I luvvvvv juices but never tried surviving on them for the entire day!!πŸ˜›
    A Juice Day sounds quite intriguing but diffiult!! A juice day for me means a hectic day for mom!!!😐
    Great feat, though!! You will sure get the “juice” for your hard work!!!πŸ˜€πŸ˜›

    Ambika

    May 23, 2009 at 11:25 am


Leave a Reply

