Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

6 People I am really thankful to…

with 21 comments

Shah Jahan

For convincing me that, even with so much selfishness, there is still a thing called ‘Love’. If someone just comes up to me and tells that there is no such thing as love, I am going to slap him/her (or better still, throw a slipper on him😉, and become a celebrity), and ask the person to go and look at the Taj. Its impossible to make such a monument without a feeling called love. For those, who have still not seen it; I can only say that I feel sorry for you. Go and see it. Its once in a lifetime or I don’t know what, that love is personified s beautifully. Don’t miss it for anything. And please don’t go alone.🙂

 

Gutenburg

Couldn’t have been more thankful to anyone else. It is because of him that we have all our books today. If he had not invented the printing press, we would not have been able to read all those books that surround us. If it hadn’t been for him, we would still be reading text written on leaves!!!

Thank you so much for making this knowledge so accessible to all of us.

Thank you for almost everything we have today.

 

Warren Buffet

Before knowing him, I believed in Chinese Prime Minister’s call – “To be rich, is glorious”. Now before you make a biased opinion about me, let me clarify that I was not a person after money, but yes, who doesn’t like making money? Then Mr. Buffet came into my life (No, I haven’t met him. But I have read and researched a lot on him). Being the richest man on planet is not an easy task. But being the richest and still knowing the value of simplicity, frugality and stability is really somehting. And this is what defines him. Giving life much more importance than money. Money is there to help us lead a comfortable life. And its is really not the other way round.

Life is not there to earn loads and loads of money. LIfe is there to live life.

Thanks sir. Thank you so much for making me realise this truth early in my life,

 

Ayn Rand

So being selfish is wrong?

She said no, its not. She made the world realise that we all are born for a reason. A reason that is not for the benefit of all, but our own. We are here for ourselves and not others. We can’t give anything to anybody, till we are able to create. Every man is an end in himself. Not a means to end of others.

Thank you so much for making me realise that I am not answerable to everyone.

Thank you for helping me to gain the ability to think objectively.

Thank you for giving me this ability to decipher between a creator and a parasite. 

And when you said that love is exception making, nobody had ever before, been so right!

 

John D. Rockefeller

Imagine owning a company that was later broken into 7 ‘smaller’ (I repeat – Smaller) companies. Nothing special about it? Now here is a fun fact about those 7 ‘small’ companies. They were 7 of the 10 largest companies of the world at that time!!!

Now its special😉

Another fun fact –

Have you heard the names like Exxon Mobil, Conoco Phillips & Total?

All are companies of gigantic sizes in energy sector and 3 of those 7 ‘small’ companies.

Want to read another fun fact? Here it is –

Bill Gates and Warren Buffet fight it out to be the richest men in the world, with around 50 Billion dollars.

John D. Rockeller is the richest man that ever was.

Wow!! Read it again…

John D. Rockeller is the richest man that ever was. Its really something.

Thank you sir. Thank you for changing the definition of big for me.

Thank you for personifying the word ‘superlative’.

 

thanks

 

Someone (?)

Thank you. Thank you for not being there.

Thank you for not being where I wanted you to be.

Thanks for teaching me that reciprocation is not obvious.

For teaching me that, we can’t have everything in life.

For teaching me that there is no point in forgetting things that hurt.

Because sooner or later, we become used to those things.

Thank you for teaching me that there is no point in running from the past.

Everyone is haunted by their past, and I am one of everyone.

Thanks a lot for teaching me that life does really go on.

 

Once again, thank you to all of you. I would really have been a different person altogether, if it had not been for you all.

Thanks.

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice.. in one post you put together conflicting ideas but still it makes sense.

    oorja

    April 25, 2009 at 1:08 pm

  2. A very thoughtful post Dev. It will in fact make a great tag!🙂

    Nita

    April 26, 2009 at 4:49 pm

  3. Great post. In my list, I would definitely put Ayn Rand and Someone(?), although not the same someone! Hopefully!😛

    Amit

    April 26, 2009 at 10:21 pm

  4. Rockfeller eh?! Nice…oh that list could pass off for most of my admired personas🙂
    -Pi

    Pi

    April 27, 2009 at 12:14 am

  5. I like the reasonings you gave. It is refreshing from the regular lists we see around.

    Solilo

    April 27, 2009 at 6:44 am

  6. @oorja
    Conflicting ideas…😉 you got the message it seems.

    @Nita
    Thanks for the compliment. I tag you for this post Nita (I am lazy person, so didn’t feel like editing the post. So I tag you here)

    @Amit
    I would have killed you if it had been the same ‘someone’😉

    @Pi
    Yup… Rockefeller is someone really great to have been forgotten today. He really does not get much mention now a days.

    @Solilo
    Thank you.🙂

    P.S. – I tag Nita, Solilo, 3.14 (Oops, Pi), Amit and Oorja here. Please do the needful😉

    Dev

    April 27, 2009 at 12:22 pm

  7. This is a great gratitude list! You are wise to be so thankful to so many! I thank all of the people who appear to do nothing for me, the ones who anger or threaten me in some way for they also teach me great lessons that I would otherwise have missed.

    tobeme

    April 28, 2009 at 2:05 am

  8. Great post Dev….!!! And an amazing blog…keep up the great work🙂

    thoughtcourt

    April 28, 2009 at 9:16 am

  9. well Taj Mahal never cam,e across as romantic to me.. so cant agree on that one..it was always an epitome of power for me.. ask me the details later..

    Warren buffet really?? try azim premji once.

    Ayn rand – swear by her…couldnt agree more..

    and well..no special comments on others..:) nice post

    Niti Jain

    April 28, 2009 at 2:38 pm

  10. and better still try richard branson the virgin brand..now he enjoys life…:D
    and you can b modest about stuff only when you reach that level… before you reach tht level you’re all fighting to b there..

    Niti Jain

    April 28, 2009 at 2:40 pm

  11. Really nice post! We are all more thankful to the ‘someones’ of our life than we ever realize.

    shivya

    April 29, 2009 at 12:10 pm

  12. omg….!!!! i am a die hard fan of Ayn Rand… and this is really nice…

    Alice

    April 30, 2009 at 7:48 pm

  13. “Its impossible to make such a monument without.. something called “lots of money” which nowadays is scarce!! That makes the Taj Mahal more relevant today! :p
    Ayn Rand huh? Sounds like someone you would admire…(from what I’ve known through your other posts!!)
    Nicely written!!🙂

    Ambika

    May 3, 2009 at 12:17 am

  14. Great post! I’m amazed you did not do this as part of a tag, but thought of it on your own. Beautiful.

    Mahendra

    May 3, 2009 at 8:13 am

  15. Warren Buffet & John D. Rockefeller are personal favourites🙂

    Dev, trust me, this is one of the best posts I’ve ever come across🙂 Too good🙂

    Keep posting🙂

    Kido

    May 3, 2009 at 7:28 pm

  16. As always, another good post.. Ayn Rand is a definite favourite… interesting to know about Rockefeller..

    DPR

    May 6, 2009 at 6:52 pm

  17. Me too a great fan of Ayn Rand. One of the very few personalities, who changed my perception towards life.

    As Niti jain said , Richard Branson is another person who amaze me !

    Vani

    May 7, 2009 at 4:34 am

  18. @tobeme
    Thats true…we gain much more from those who hurt us than those who dont.

    @thoughtcourt
    Thank you so much🙂🙂

    @Niti Jain
    Your view on Taj is true – it is a symbol of power. I wont refute you on this. But we all have views.🙂
    But when you compare Warren Buffet with Azim Premji (Huh!!) I can fight a lot over it. But no use. We all have different choices and inspirations.
    I agree with you on Branson guy. If I could have been like him, I would be lucky. But if I could be like Rockefeller or Buffet, I would have been blessed😉

    @shivya
    True… Sometimes ‘somones’ are more important than knownONES😉

    @Alice
    OMG…what a coincidence, I found another ayn Rand fan. wow .🙂

    @Ambika
    Seems my post have portrayed me in the exact way I am. An objectionivist.🙂

    @Mahendra
    Someone, somewhere has to think original. This time it was me. Thanks.

    @Kido
    Thanks for such a compliment. I am really delighted at this comment.🙂 Thanks again.

    @DPR
    Rockefeller is really worth researching. And I am not exaggerating. And I am doing the needful.😉

    @Vani
    Seems Ayn Rand must have changed each and every person wh has read her stuff.
    She is a miracle. A phenomemon.

    Dev

    May 8, 2009 at 1:12 pm

  19. I completed the tag🙂 First tag in my blog..

    Pi

    May 8, 2009 at 3:06 pm

  20. […] late at night while randomly looking at a few blogs, here I found a quote by Warren Buffet which I have modified to match my context: Life is not there to […]

  21. Ranom blog-hopping. Stumbled by chance. Extremely interesting post.🙂 I like ! I like! I like! Had a smile by the end of it.

    Vodoo Woman

    September 20, 2009 at 1:54 pm


Leave a Reply

