Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

Branded Slavery anyone?

with 16 comments

I was having a discussion with one of my close friends on the ongoing recession (no, we are not economists), when this thought came to my mind. About the brands we use in our daily life. Just ask yourself this thing. When you and I were growing up (if we do belong to the same generation πŸ˜‰ ), did you here so many brand names? No. Did we pay any attention to the brand of the stuff we brought? No (atleast for me). But now things have changed. We do pay attention to the ‘name’ of the thing more than the functionality of the same. Is it not a dependency on something? I guess it is. Is it not a kind of slavery? I don’t have an answer for this question now. Slavery is something more serious.

To tellΒ the truth, I ‘am’ loyal to certain brands. But there are also items where I am not one bit concerned about the brand I buy.

Like for example, I will never buy my cellphone which is not a Nokia, Motorola, Samsung, HTC, O2 (OMG!! – πŸ™‚ I just love it), Blackberry. I will never buy an a phone which is an LG. And I don’t have any reason for that. I just some how hate it by default.

And there are stuffs for which I am not concerned about the brand. Like “Pani Puri”…I’ll better have it at a road side vendor than look for some Bikanerwala or Haldiram!! (I have some friends who actually look for a brand in Pani Puri too!!)

Now here is a list of the brands I am using now. In case of emergencies, I might use others, but ususally, it is from these only :

Cell Phonemotorola1

Β Jeanslevis

Β 

Β 

Shoesadidas

Β 

Laptopvaio

Β 

Cell phone service providerairtel

Β 

Search (Thanks Sergie & Brin)google-logo

MP3 Playercreative

Gillette – For everything related to facial hairgillette

Car – Mercedez Benz πŸ™‚ Amenbenz

Β and I can go on and on…there will be more and more and more brands.
So am I a branded slave?

I still don’t have an answer.

Earlier generations including our parents , their parents did not have so many brands. But still, they could get their jobs done. Can’t we do the same. Of course we can. It is just a matter of convinience. Brans have become the equivalent of convinience for ur. So has consumerism really changed our lives for the better?

I feel it is too early for me to answer such a question.

Don’t know what more can I say on this. But as far as slavery is concerned, I think that practically everyone is slave to their choices, some consciously and some out of need. But when I say slavery, I mean a moderate one.

Btw, I don’t own a Benz. πŸ˜‰

Update : I got an award for this post …

tangy-tuesday-post

So…even slavery has its ‘tangy‘ fruitsΒ !!

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well! that’s what is called change and advancement of technology.

    Even earlier people used brands..less but still.

    The car was fiat or a premier padmini or impala in my grandparents era. I mean it was a luxury then. Now that cars aren’t luxury anymore to at least the ones posting comments here πŸ™‚ we go for bigger brands.

    In our times not so much for the clothes but bags, suitcases and shoes were branded.

    Solilo

    March 13, 2009 at 2:03 am

  2. u started good..the answer to ur questions lies there itself. in our generation, our parents were busy fighting for survival(or majority of population was). there was no brand awareness for the simple fact that these brands did not tap india 1. India did not have the economy as a whole to go in for brands 2. India did not support the international brands as much (remember coke story)

    in the recent times the economy was on a boom and so were the purchasing powers of people. And brands are not convenience..brands are luxary. πŸ™‚ a maruti 800 is a convenience to get u from A to B..a merc is Luxary personified. πŸ™‚

    Niti Jain

    March 13, 2009 at 9:16 am

  3. Hmm. Interesting line of thought. I remember that my folks always used to buy only Colgate toothpastes; never CloseUp despite me begging for it coz of the hep ads… My brother loved GoldSpot from when he was 6 or so and would always insist on the Zing Thing… Those days!

    True, there are wider choices now. What with so much subliminal advertising going on! Somehow we are led to believe using one product ups you on the social scale – like Adidas.

    I’m a slave to Adidas for shoes and tracks and such; but for just a fraction of its price, Bata’s Power shoes seem just as good. Yet, my Power Shoes are brought out only for walks on muddy terrains…

    Are we being taken for a ride by paying for the brand rather than the actual material value?? I guess…

    Ms. Chill Pill

    March 13, 2009 at 2:20 pm

  4. I liked you post, it is true that we no longer care about the product functionality, and we are only looking or wondering how could would they look with us… just think about the iPod!

    leodayz

    March 14, 2009 at 2:01 am

  5. Surely our generation do pay to name. BRANDED THINGS SHOW ONES STATUS AND CAPABILITY TO SPEND(NOW A DAYS). This post of urs is very well written. I liked it very much.

    Ananya

    March 14, 2009 at 11:24 am

  6. Branded slavery, you can call me one if you might, but for me brand means quality..

    Motorola I might consider Nokia being much more dependable. Sony Ericsson though has good speakers, speciality of Sony as it is.

    Levi’s you can count on coz of it’s cloth and stitch but Superdry is the anthem. As far as footwear i’d suggest Nike, adidas is pretty deceitful with the sole.

    MP3 well nothing beats apple. If you want great headphones Grado is the best.

    As far as cars are concerned I can go on with Lamborghini’s and Ferrari’s and Maserati’s, nothing says luxury like the italians..

    Well our parents had limited amount of brands but they too had their favourites..

    Atreyi

    March 15, 2009 at 8:50 am

  7. Why don’t you use Shuffle πŸ˜‰ .

    Its not slavery dude, we are just comfortable with the product and now we won’t want to change easily πŸ™‚

    Chirag Chamoli

    March 16, 2009 at 2:00 pm

  8. OMG!! Am tllng u….at my home…my twin bro (14 years old) is so crazy after nike and adidas…..he wont buy anythng xpt that!!

    I totally agree wid u! Ppl think that it’s a status quo…no gucci perfume- u r lookd down upon 😐

    Meghna

    March 16, 2009 at 2:43 pm

  9. […] :Β  Lumuhuku What : Branded Slavery, Anyone? Tangy : In the times of recession, there are still many people who are slave to brands. Lumuhuku in […]

  10. Now a days branded items are not too costly…there is not much diff if you buy clothes from local market or westside…so obvious choice would be brand only..

    But my hubby is over brand conscious ..he will buy panipuri also from brand like haldiram or bikaner πŸ™‚

    Rashmi

    March 18, 2009 at 1:04 pm

  11. Gillette – For everything related to facial hair

    I like that specification – ‘Facial hair’.
    But it also makes me a weee bit curious.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Appreciate it!

    Deepika

    March 18, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  12. great post!
    I can confess I am too a bit of a brand slave πŸ™‚

    My list: Dior, Google, Peter Kaiser, Canon…etc – that is what just comes to my mind:)

    why dont you make a tag out of this??? I am sure may bloggers would liek to do this tag, I think even I will do on my blog if you will tag me πŸ™‚

    axinia

    March 19, 2009 at 5:13 pm

  13. Hehe…yep! True…

    Only, I’m just as brand-conscious as i’m brand-indifferent. I’m an inconsistent shopper. I just buy what i like. For me functionality comes first…but when it’s a high-priced product, yes, i’m brand conscious!

    Oh yes, the looked-down-up-on thingy if yu’re not in a branded-world…it’s happened to me too…but i just have never cared πŸ˜€ Sometimes, it’s fun to be ‘different’, esp when yu kno that brand-savvy ppl hate a non-brand conscious person amidst them. πŸ˜‰

    scorpria

    March 20, 2009 at 4:27 pm

  14. I completely agree wid u dev.. wen v were growin up (n v r d SAME generation)v hardly cared abt brands.. v had heard abt dem but v always thot dat dey r way too expensive..
    but nw thngs r diff.. v hardly buy anythng unbranded.. i feel dat it started off by d whole “status symbol” thng n peer pressure.. if sme1 had a levis or a benetton, i needed to hv it too.. to show dat evn i can own 1.. d feelin of ownership is gud rgt??
    i m a brand slave myslef.. nokia, nikon, levis, benetton..
    cant write more.. else it’l become a post in itself πŸ˜‰

    neha kotwal

    March 21, 2009 at 2:54 pm

  15. Did we have a choice of choosing brands when we were “Young”? I didnt. Partially because of the price tag, but mostly because of the provider ‘parents’ never found the need of Branded tags.

    But times change and so do the mindset of people. My 14 YO brother, wants a guitar non other than a yamaha ET112, and a PSP than the cartridge gameboy. And the provider can relate to these products and brands more now than they did, say 10 years back.

    Personally, for me, I too am a brand slave, if u want to put it that way. πŸ™‚
    Titan, Reebok, KFC, Converse . . .

    Len

    March 21, 2009 at 3:49 pm

  16. @leodayz
    I agree with you on this product. We have much better ones in the market that are better value for money.

    @Deepika
    [??]

    @axinia
    Go on lady, do the post…I will be delighted to read similar experiences πŸ™‚

    @neha kotwal
    πŸ™‚

    @Len
    Yeah man..I can understand your plight. Its same in my part of the world too… πŸ˜‰

    Dev

    March 23, 2009 at 11:37 am


Leave a Reply

