Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

Non Veg Ki Kahani, Ek Vegetarian Ki Zubaani

with 17 comments

Today is 4th March 2009 A.D.

Yes, 4th March.

This is a historic day. This is the day, when one year back, a voracious non vegetarian person, converted to a vegetarian!!

Nothing extraordinary?? Now you must understand that this guy was the person who was almost always on a non vegetarian diet, could eat 20-30 Kebabs at one go. Would look at goats and feel that they only deserved to be on his platter!! Horrible!!!

 

That person is me. I am sorry but I actually did believe that goats were made for my platter. I am a vegetarian now. 365 days without meat. 365 days of not taking a life for the sake of my tongue. 365 days of being unsuccessfully convinced by my friends to restart my non veggie cruise.

 

 tunday3

 

This was our temple, our mosque, our everything. My group of friends and I could always be found near this place when we had time. (Thanks Nitesh, Chandan, Mehdi for being so great in eating so many of those animals along with me 😉 )

 

 kfc-delhi1

 

And the above pic is not new for a lot of you. This was our favorite place after our college canteen in my college life. Life was really finger lickin’ good. (Thanks Dhruv, Nitin, Saurabh for being there to eat those delicious chicken stuffs….oops, Nitin, you were a veggie man…but still you accompanied us 😉 )

 

And now after one year, what are my feelings…

I am still the same. Just a bit greener. I am still as compassionate towards animals. Slightly more than usual now. Now I don’t eat them. J

But the real question that comes to my mind is, “Can they reason?” or, “Can they talk?” but rather, “Can they suffer?”……of course they can. But point is…”Should they suffer?” I’m sure that a lot of you might be losing interest in my post now, as it would take a rather philosophical turn to justify my stand of vegetarianism. I have written about my vegetarianism debut before also. I just wanted to take up the topic once again on my vegetarian anniversary.

Many of us have pets now or have had pets in the past also, and we can completely understand their feelings and their acts. We know when they are feeling, and what they are feeling. And you won’t hurt your pet, would you? Then why to treat other animals the other way? Why should these animals find a place in our stomach and not in our heart?

If you could see the conditions that these animals (brought up for being converted to food) live in, how they are treated, what they are fed with, we will feel ashamed. It’s not just the killing of an animal that causes suffering, but their living conditions also, that are simply hell like.

So why did I convert into a vegetarian. There really must be a very solid reason for it. Rest assured, it had nothing to do with religion. All I wanted to test myself. I wanted to see if I can stay away from something that is such an integral part of my food.  Let’s see how I can manage the rest of my life. I haven’t done badly in last one year.;-).  And by the  way, I have no intention of converting into a vegan. I can’t stay away from milk and other dairy products too. I just love milk and cheese. 😀

But pleeezzz……just don’t believe me at the face of it. You know the pros, you know the cons. Non vegetarianism is all about convenience. It’s easier that ways. Rather very easy. And it’s even much more pleasurable than being a veggie .

Congratulations to me over my ‘grass’ian victory over tigerish one…

Cheers to me…

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kudos Ghaas phoos eater…Another one of my clan, you are…welcome!! 😉

    -Pi

    Pi

    March 5, 2009 at 12:14 am

  2. All I wanted to test myself. I wanted to see if I can stay away from something…

    Nothing like putting ourself through a regimen to see how we behave under duress correct?

    I did something similar a few months ago, and hey, I just KNOW I have it in me to stick to something once I set my mind to it.

    Yay@vegetarianism. Whatever be the reason, being a veggie rocks and is quite convenient imho esp in India. 🙂

    rads

    March 5, 2009 at 2:20 am

  3. Anyone who can successfully convert to vegetarianism after tasting non-veg needs to be appreciated. 🙂

    Solilo

    March 5, 2009 at 2:24 am

  4. Very well written .Welcome to the club.I converted to veg about 2 yrs back.Circumstances were ,however,different.Ultimately,it is one’s own choice.It is worth giving it a try.

    B K CHOWLA

    March 5, 2009 at 6:53 pm

  5. @Pi
    Ghaas Phoos eater was one of the first ‘adjectives’ that I was bombarded with, when I publicly announced my stance.. 🙂

    @rads
    Well said rads…it is really easy for us Indians to stay vegeatrians. And testing myself was also a good by-product of this endeavour.

    @Solilo
    Thanks for the appreciation 🙂

    @B K Chowla
    Thank you. 🙂 I did try and I swear that I dont repent even one bit of it.

    Dev

    March 5, 2009 at 7:12 pm

  6. 365 days of Ghaas phoos Eating, I can feel your pain 😉

    Chirag Chamoli

    March 6, 2009 at 3:29 pm

  7. Nice job! It must have been a great test of will power for you this past year!

    amreekandesi

    March 7, 2009 at 4:57 am

  8. @Chirag Chamoli
    Another address to ghaas phoos eater…wow!! Thanx…n yeah…intially, it was painful. 😉

    @amreekandesi
    Thanks man. It did require a lot of will power and I feel I had the blessings of all those animals I ate up in last 20 something years. 😉

    Dev

    March 7, 2009 at 12:08 pm

  9. 😀
    Im a born ghaas-phoos eater..!!! 😛

    Ambika

    March 9, 2009 at 1:57 pm

  10. i have turned into a vegetarian myself…out of choice though… miss those days at Bade Miya’s and KFC… but i am still happy 😀

    havent got much time to visit ur blog cuz i have been in this static state since quite sometime…please bear with me…

    love what u write here though.. 😀

    keep blogging!

    Alice

    March 9, 2009 at 3:06 pm

  11. Dear Dev
    2 things –

    1. I do not understand your biased compassion for animals. Why leave out plants? You think they aren’t hurt when you pull them out of their roots? There are dickheads who’ll disparage me for my lack of understanding of biology, but I’d encourage those jackasses to read the findings of our very own JC Bose.

    2. I would like to challenge you to another regimen – no sex for 365 days after marriage. Can you do it?

    Nitesh

    March 11, 2009 at 9:14 am

  12. Dev D thanx 4 remembering me..its ok for 1 yr of ghaas phoos u can do it again..n plz dnt gv silly reasons of nt eating NV.if u think so much abt animals y dnt u stop u leather wallets,shoes,belts,jackets??

    mehdi

    March 11, 2009 at 10:26 pm

  13. Great to see such a post … I have always been veg and never could think of eating non-veg (nothing related to religion) … there is so much criticism when a human being is killed by an animal … lets say elephant/tiger … but there is no noise made when human beings almost kill species to extinction …

    Dev

    March 12, 2009 at 10:41 am

  14. tu keya si likan liye te hun sun ….

    i totally agree wid whatever u hav written(animal rights ..) as its totally correct n nobody can deny it but …..

    see even veggies( read ghas phus ) dat u eat do hav life .. right …

    n i c only 3 reasons y one eats non veg …
    1. its tasty ( u cant deny dat )
    2. its healty ( science cant deny dat )
    3. its part of d food chain of d biological ecosystem so der is no need of d hooplah vegetarianism attracts

    so i feel its about a personal choice rather than anything else

    N N dev d dude i still dont get y u left it …..

    dhruv

    March 17, 2009 at 11:19 am

  15. hey.. very well written dev..
    n no matter what evry1 says abt ur vegetarianism, i support u completely.. its commendable hw u cud stay widout non veg fr a yr wen u were sooo much into it..
    hats off to u fr ur will power..
    n nitesh d challenge is baseless.. its a completly different thng to leave non veg n nt hv sex AFTER marriage.. u juz cant compare d 2..
    DEV d DUDE!! U ROCK AS ALWAYS!!

    neha kotwal

    March 18, 2009 at 10:13 am

  16. It’s a proud milestone! It’s been over 6 years since I converted and I’m still so glad I did. Kindness really starts one step at a time 🙂 You’re doing good 😀

    Shivya

    March 18, 2009 at 4:11 pm

  17. @Ambika
    Though I am a veggie now, I must confess that there were pleasures and that too heavenly ones, in eating non veg.

    @Alice
    Thank you so much 🙂

    @Nitesh
    Grrr..I will handle you in more better ways than replying to your comment.
    Read neha kotwal’s reply

    @Mehdi
    Man, you have given me some serious things to ponder about.

    @Dev
    Het, we share our names man!!
    Yes, its really sad that value of life is dependent on the species being killed…

    @dhruv
    Even I am confused about that dude…

    @neha kotwal
    Thank you lady 🙂
    I can empathize with you…completely 😉

    @Shivya
    Thank you 🙂

    Dev

    March 23, 2009 at 11:31 am


Leave a Reply

