Lumuhuku

Arbitary Obsessionist's Blog : Ambition is redundant. In life, mission is everything.

How Rich We Are?

leave a comment »

Just a day or two back, my close friend and I went to have dinner in our favorite non-vegetarian hangout. Oops! I am a vegetarian; but this change from a non-veg to a veggie happened recently. And I still enjoy going there, though I only take a Coke there. But lets get back to the point. I remember that I spent around Rupees 50 (=$1) there. Pretty cheap meal, isn’t it?

Now let me remind you of a country named Ethiopia (Didn’t you know it was a country?) in Africa, which is one of the poorest countries in the world. The population of Ethiopia is around 78 million. And the average yearly income is $250.

80% of people there live on less than $1 a day.

90% of people live on less than $2 a day!

I didn’t even think twice about it as we ate our $1 dinner that night. But just think about 61 million people of Ethiopia who are living on less than the cost of my dinner?

So shouldn’t we be thankful to God for having blessed us with the riches and for having destined us to be born in a much better country? For being able to afford the things we have? We definitely should… But this should also prompt us to think about how we handle our wealth. I am not going to say that, we need to start donating all our wealth and become a DONATION TYCOON of sorts. But least we can do is be a good caretaker of the resources that have been given to us. That would be suffice.

And just while I was thinking about the list of the richest guys, I stumbled upon a really interesting website called Global Rich List… Its interesting because this site allows you to know your position in the list of world’s richest people. All you need to do is to type in your annual income and see where you rank on the Global Rich List…

Its really interesting…And about me, it says that…

I’m the 792,464,529 richest person on earth!


Discover how rich you are! >>

 

And to make you realize that you should think before spending, it quotes the following examples…
$8 could buy you 15 organic apples OR 25 fruit trees for farmers in Honduras to grow and sell fruit at their local market.
$30 could buy you an ER DVD Boxset OR a First Aid kit for a village in Haiti.
$73 could buy you a new mobile phone OR a new mobile health clinic to care for AIDS orphans in Uganda.
$2400 could buy you a second generation High Definition TV OR schooling for an entire generation of school children in an Angolan village.

Now I am a World’s 792,464,529th Richest Guy… So what should I do with my wealth?  🙂

Share this post :

Leave a Reply

